Georgetown Highland Games

16 Days
14 Hours
5 Mins
0 Secs

George Sherriff Memorial Invitational Competition

The 20th Annual
About the Event | Sponsors


Saturday, November 21, 2015
St. Paul’s Presbyterian Church
70 James St. S., Hamilton, Ontario

Venue information and directions

Admission: $10 ($5 for students)

with Master of Ceremonies
Trish Kirkwood

and Adjudicators
Andrew Berthoff (Toronto, Ontario), Andrea Boyd (Ottawa, Ontario), and Ian Duncan (Scotland).

and Competitors
10 top Grade One Pipers from across Canada and the United States have been invited to this event:

  • Tyler Bridge (Ontario)
  • James Dyson (Nova Scotia)
  • Austin Diepenhorst (California)
  • Andrew Hutton (Ontario)
  • Kevin McLean (British Columbia)
  • Ryan Praskovich (Pennsylvania)
  • Sean Regan (Virginia)
  • Christian Rhoads (Missouri)
  • Blaise Theriault (Nova Scotia)
  • Jack Toohey (Oregon)


6/8 Marches: 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
Piobaireachd: 1:00 – 4:30 p.m.
March, Strathspey & Reel: 7:30 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.

Awards: 10 p.m.

All bands, individuals and organizations sponsoring the event will get complementary admission for all three events.

All sponsors will appear in the programme for the competition and will be published on the PPBSO website.

Sponsorship is necessary to cover the costs associated with the competition. If you, your band, business, or organization wishes to help sponsor the event, please contact Bob Worrall at or call 905-335-0110. Please make cheques payable to the “George Sherriff Memorial Invitational Competition”. Thanks once again to all those who have helped sponsor the event over the last 20 years. Without your help none of this would be possible.

On April 21st, 1995 the Ontario piping community lost an ardent supporter and good friend.
Before coming to Canada in 1947, George resided in Glasgow, where he started piping with the Boys Brigade. He played with a number of bands in Scotland. These included the Cabar Feidh, Stewart & Lloyd’s and Clan MacRae Pipe Bands.

After emigrating to Canada he joined the Dofasco Pipe Band. He later joined the Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders of Canada, under P/M John Wilson, where he rose to the rank of Pipe Sergeant. He retired from the band in 1967.

George was well known in Ontario as a dedicated teacher of the pipes and a composer of many pipe tunes. He was a loyal supporter of the Niagara-Hamilton Branch of the Pipers’ & Pipe Band Society of Ontario.

George will be remembered fondly by his many friends and pupils. His keen with will be unforgettable to those who knew him. He was never without a story or wee joke.

George Sherriff’s unfailing support of many generations of young players has helped contribute to the legacy of successful piping from Ontario. This contest is named in his honour.


PPBSO Branches

PPBSO Office

President: Chris Buchanan
Vice President:Charles MacDonald
Secretary: Michele Curtis
Treasurer: John Allen


Administrator: Sharon Duthart
Chief Steward: Glenn Covert
Ombudsman: Ken Eller